Newcastle United Football Club (also known as The Magpies, or The Toon) are a English Premier League football club based in Newcastle upon Tyne. The club was founded in 1892 after the merger of two local clubs, Newcastle East End and Newcastle West End. Historically they have won 4 First Division titles and 6 FA Cups, the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup in 1969 and the UEFA Intertoto Cup in 2006.

After unification of the East End and West End clubs, Newcastle United continued to play in East End's red until 1894 when they adopted the now iconic black and white striped shirts, with black shorts and socks to avoid frequent colour clashes.[1]

Newcastle has a long-standing rivalry with neighbouring Sunderland with whom they have contested the Tyne-Wear derby since 1898.

The club are the current champions of the Football League Championship.

Wigan Athletic Football Club (pronounced /ˈwɪɡən/) is a professional football team based in Wigan, Greater Manchester. They compete in the Premier League, in which they have been playing since their promotion from the Championship in 2005. Wigan's current spell in the Premier League is the only top flight run in the club's history.[3]

They have played at the DW Stadium since 1999, which they now own, sharing the stadium with rugby league club Wigan Warriors.[4] They previously played at Springfield Park for 67 years.[5]

As of the 2009–10 season, Wigan Athletic are the youngest club in the Premier League,[6] having only been formed in 1932.

Watch match Newcastle United F.C. vs Wigan Athletic F.C. online live stream 16-10-2010

0 التعليقات:

إرسال تعليق